18 regions of Somalia and Somalia Map

Updated: Oct 1, 2020

  1. Somaliland

  2. Puntland

  3. Galmudug

  4. Hirshabelle

  5. South West 

  6. Jubbaland

  7. Banadir

18 regions of Somalia - Somalia is officially divided into eighteen (18) administrative regions which in turn are subdivided into ninety (90) districts.

What are the 18 regions of Somalia?

Somalia Map

There are currently eighteen regions ( 18 Regions of Somalia)

  1. Awdal

  2. Bakool

  3. Banadir

  4. Bari

  5. Bay

  6. Galgaduud

  7. Gedo

  8. Hiiraan

  9. Lower Juba

  10. Lower Shabelle

  11. Middle Juba

  12. Middle Shebelle

  13. Mudug

  14. Nugal

  15. Sool

  16. Sanaag

  17. Togdheer

  18. Waqooyi Galbeed

18 Regions of Somalia, Capitals, Population and Area

About Me


My name is Mustafa Mmj, I love to travel. My biggest passion is traveling the world and experiencing new adventures and cultures. I live for it. I was born in Mogadishu and  live in Munich, but most years I manage to get three months off from my job to travel the world and write about what I see, hear, feel and do.

Then I go back to work with my heart full and start saving and planning for my next adventure to a new destination.

Sometimes, I find destinations that I just cannot get enough of, and then I have to return there to learn and experience even more.

Some of the countries I have been to are Turkey, Qatar, Italy, Norway, Sweden, Somalia, Austria, Greece and Denmark.


My goal is to build FREE travel guides, where I can share my experiences and whatever lessons I pick up along the way.

I hope you enjoy my travels and please let me know if you have any questions. I love receiving comments and emails about the blog posts that I write.

Bye for now.




Contact Me:


Join My Mailing List

  • White Facebook Icon
  • Somger