Prime Ministers Of Somalia Since 1960 - Somger - Free Travel Guides - Somalia History - Caasimada

This is alist of Prime Ministers o fSomalia. The Prime Minister of Somalia (Somali:Ra'iisul wasaaraha Soomaaliya) is thehead of government of Somalia. There have been 18 official prime ministers since the office was created in 1956.

The first Prime Minister wasAbdullahi Issa, who served prior to independence in theTrust Territory of Somaliland. The incumbent Prime Minister of theFederal Republic of Somalia is Hassan Ali Khayre.

Since Somalia became a sovereign state, these Prime Ministers have acted as its Heads of Government.

The Prime Minister of Somalia is the head of government and wields considerable power in the affairs of the country. In the recent past, the country has experienced enormous political instability since the collapse of the government led by Mohammed Siad Barre in the early 1990s.

To this date, it experiences armed conflicts among militia groups most of which work towards the downfall of the government and seeks to control the main cities such as Mogadishu. However, since the creation of the position of Prime Minister, there have been sixteen of them. There was no recognized government from the year 1991 to 2000. 

Prime Ministers Of Somalia Since 1960

Abdirashid Ali Shermarke

He was the Prime Minister of Somalia from July 1960 to June 1964. He was later elected the President of the country and served until his assassination in 1969. He was born in 1919 in Harardhere region. He completed his elementary education in 1936 after which he embarked on trading and later joined civil service with the Italian colonialists.

He completed his secondary school while serving in the civil service in 1953. He then obtained a scholarship to study political science in Rome, Italy. Upon his return, he was elected to the legislative assembly and on independence, he was appointed Prime Minister. He then vied for the Presidential elections in 1967 and won. He served as President until his assassination in 1969.

Abdirizak Haji Hussein

He was born in December 1924 and died in January 2014. He served as the Prime Minister between 1964 and 1967. He was mostly self-taught and was fluent in both English and Italian. He had an Islamic scholarship background having been taught by his father who was an authority in the religious studies.

Early on in his life, he served as an officer in the British Military as a clerk and an interpreter. He also served six months in prison for agitating for the independence of Somalia.

Mohammad Ali Samatar

He was the Premier from 1987 to 1990. He was born in 1931 and had a military background having studied in the elite Russia Academy. Having served as a Lieutenant General, he served as a minister of defense. He later served as the Vice President and then got nominated for the position of Prime Minister, and served for three years.

Muhammad Hawadle Madar

He was the Prime Minister for just a few months starting from September 1990 to January 1991. He had served as a member of the Socialist Party before his appointment. A full-blown civil war then erupted after his time in office and another candidate in Umar Ghalib was appointed.

Political Stability in Somalia

The politics of Somalia takes place in a framework of federal parliamentary representative democratic republic. According to the Constitution of Somalia, the President of Somalia is head of state, and Prime Minister as head of government who is appointed by the President with the parliament's approval.

The country has a bicameral legislature, which consists of the Senate (upper house) and the National Assembly of Somalia (lower house). Together, they make up the Federal Parliament of Somalia.

In 2012 The Federal Parliament of Somalia was concurrently inaugurated, ushering in the Federal Government of Somalia, the first permanent central government in the country since the start of the civil war.

With a new constitution and a new parliament representing diverse parties and factions, Somalia's political structure subsequently showed signs of stabilization.

The ushering of independent cabinet positions during the 2010s and beyond by the federated states of Jubaland, Puntland, Galmudug, Hirshabelle, Koofur Orsi and Somaliland meant that civil servant tasks in each region were largely handled insularly, without federal or other external input.

Prime Ministers Of Somalia Since 1960

Muhammad Haji Ibrahim EgalJuly of 1960; 1967-1969

Abdirashid Ali Shermarke 1960-1964

Abdirizak Haji Hussein 1964-1967

Vacant 1969-1987; 1993-2000

Mohammad Ali Samatar 1987-1990

Muhammad Hawadle Madar 1990-1991

Umar Arteh Ghalib 1991-1993

Ali Khalif Galaydh 2000-2001

Hassan Abshir Farah 2001-2003

Hassan Abshir Farah 2001-2003

Ali Mohammed Ghedi 2004-2007

Nur Hassan Hussein 2007-2009

Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke (Incumbent) 2009-2010; 2014-2017

Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed 2010-2011

Abdiweli Mohamed Ali2011-2012

Abdi Farah Shirdon 2012-2013

Abdiweli Sheikh Ahmed 2013-2014

Hassan Ali Khayre 2017-